The local rules of Nottinghamshire CTC are:

  1. Title

    The title of the group is Nottinghamshire CTC. However, it shall be abbreviated to Notts CTC where this is judged by the committee to be more appropriate.
  2. Area

    Nottinghamshire CTC serves a geographical area defined in terms of postal districts which approximate to the county of Nottinghamshire. A map showing the area is kept by the Secretary.
  3. Colours

    The groupís colours are green, yellow and white.
  4. Annual General Meeting
    1. The AGM shall be held between October 15th and November 15th.
    2. Admission to the AGM is restricted to current members of CTC. The Registration Officers must identify which members attending have the right to vote.
    3. The meeting will be chaired by the outgoing Chair or, if unavailable, by another CTC member agreed by the committee.
    4. Each eligible member shall have one vote and, in the event of an equality of votes, the Chair shall have a second casting vote.
    5. At the AGM, members shall be elected to the following posts, taking office from the next committee meeting:

      President Cyclonda Editor
      Vice Presidents* Cyclonda Publisher
      Chair Cyclonda Treasurer
      Secretary Webmaster
      Treasurer Social Secretary
      Welfare Officer Auditor
      Publicity Officer Organiser for each informal Riding Group
      Registration Officer Second representative for some Riding Groups
      Rights & Amenities OfficerGeneral Committee Members (up to 6)
    6. Candidates for election must be proposed and seconded.
    7. Nominations for all posts, other than General Committee Members, should be received by the Secretary at least seven days before the meeting.
    8. If the Secretary has received no nominations for a post seven days before the meeting, nominations will be accepted at the meeting.
    9. In the event of a contest, the election shall be by ballot.
    10. The President shall not stand for more than three consecutive years.
    11. Roles for some committee posts may be combined. However, the posts of Chair, Secretary and Treasurer must be occupied by three different people, and the post of Welfare Officer should not be filled by the Secretary.
    12. The number of Vice Presidents to be elected shall be decided at the meeting.
    13. Notice of motions to be proposed at the AGM must be received by the Secretary at least seven days before the meeting.
    14. Any business undertaken at an AGM with less than 10 members present will be subject to ratification by CTC Council.
  5. Committee

    The committee shall consist of:
    1. Officers elected at the Annual General Meeting (other than the Auditor).
    2. The CTC Councillor for the area, who shall have a vote.
    3. The Secretaries of any subsidiary Member Groups.
  6. First Committee Meeting

    The Secretary shall convene the first committee meeting, within six weeks of the AGM. At its first meeting, the committee shall decide:
    1. its quorum
    2. how often, where and when to meet
  7. Committee Conduct
    1. Any vacancy amongst the officials elected at the AGM shall be filled from within the committee.
    2. If the Chair is not in attendance at a committee meeting, then those present will appoint a deputy for that meeting.
    3. The committee may appoint sub-committees of at least three of its members to carry out any part of its work. Additionally, the Chair, Secretary and Treasurer may attend and vote at sub-committee meetings.
    4. Any CTC member may attend committee meetings as an observer, but may only speak with the Chairís permission and shall not vote.
    5. The committee may invite any CTC member to attend committee meetings in an advisory capacity, but such co-opted members shall not vote.
    6. Any question which normally would be decided by the committee and which is too urgent to be considered by a scheduled committee meeting, may be decided by consultation between the President, Chair, Secretary and Treasurer (as available) and any other CTC members who they wish to involve.
  8. Informal Riding Groups
    1. Nottinghamshire CTC shall have several informal Riding Groups which will each provide a programme of rides throughout the year - conforming to some predetermined definition.
    2. A new informal Riding Group may be formed if a request, signed by at least eight CTC members, is received by the Secretary and the committee gives its approval.
    3. Any CTC member may participate in the activities of any Riding Group.
    4. Each Riding Group shall hold a meeting each year, before October 15th, to approve a report of the Riding Groupís activities for the year and to agree policies for the following yearís programme of rides. An organiser for the Riding Group (who will be a member of the committee) and, if desired, a second person to represent the Riding Group at committee meetings shall also be agreed (subject to ballot at the AGM).
    5. The organiser of each informal Riding Group must provide the Secretary with a report about the Riding Groupís activities over the previous year, as soon as possible after the meeting.
    6. If Nottinghamshire CTC holds a separate fund to support the activities of a specific Riding Group, then the annual meeting of that Riding Group must also nominate someone to act as treasurer for this sub-fund (which will remain part of the groupís overall funds).
    7. The committee may dissolve an informal Riding Group if adequate reasons become apparent. Any CTC member shall have the right to appeal against such a decision at a General Meeting of the group and finally to CTC Council.
  9. Expenses

    The committee may reimburse any CTC member for expenses incurred on the groupís business.
  10. Changing the Rules
    1. A General Meeting of the group may request CTC Council to change the groupís name or its area of operation. Notice that such an alteration is to be discussed must be included in the notice convening the General Meeting. Where a proposed amendment of area covers part of another Member Groupís area, then the proposal must be communicated to the Secretary of that group at the same time as the meeting notices are published. Also, other groups in the area must be invited to make representation to the General Meeting at which the proposals are discussed.
    2. The underlined parts of these rules are part of CTCís overriding policies for Member Groups and so may not be changed by the group.
    3. The remaining rules may be altered by an absolute majority vote (ie more than half of those present) at a General Meeting of the group.


  1. These rules were produced in April 2008, for ratification at the group AGM in November 2008.
  2. They are based on the Local Rules for Nottinghamshire District Association of the Cyclistsí Touring Club, produced initially in December 1982 and modified subsequently in December 1998.
  3. They have been produced in order to comply with new policies for Member Groups, which were introduced by CTC in 2007.